How much is it to hunt in New Mexico?
Over-the-Counter (OTC) License fees
|Game-hunting License 1||$15||$65|
|Game-hunting & Fishing License 2||$30||Not Issued|
|Junior Game-hunting License 1||$10||$15|
|Junior Game-hunting & Fishing License 2||$15||Not Issued|
Can you hunt does in New Mexico?
Getting Started. If you hope to pursue deer on public lands in New Mexico, you must enter the lottery process the state Department of Game and Fish conducts each year. Those selected in the random drawings can then purchase the licenses required to hunt deer legally on public lands in New Mexico.
How do I apply for a hunt in New Mexico?
Applications must be completed before 5:00PM (Mountain Time) on the application deadline dates. By phone at 888-248-6866. Phone applications will be available 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday.
What is there to hunt in New Mexico?
Hunting in New Mexico is as diverse as the terrain. Big game species include elk, mule deer, desert bighorn sheep, mountain lion, black bear, javelina, and pronghorn, and hunting for wild turkeys, small game, upland birds, and waterfowl also excellent.
Can you hunt on your own land in New Mexico?
Private-land-only licenses can be applied for with special permission from a landowner. New Mexico law requires hunters to obtain private-land licenses 14 days in advance of the start of a hunt. This allows time for licenses and tags to be mailed to the customer’s address.
How much does it cost to hunt elk in New Mexico?
Table of Draw Fees
|Standard Elk License (Residents 18–64 years of age and all nonresidents)|
|A (Antlerless)||$60||Not Issued|
|MB (Mature Bull)||$90||$548|
|ES (Either Sex)||$90||$548|
Is there a bounty on coyotes in New Mexico?
Dogs may be used only during open trapping season for protected furbearers. There is no “pursuit or training season” other than the regular open season—except for raccoon. Is there a coyote bounty program in New Mexico? Not at this time.
Do you have to wear orange when hunting in New Mexico?
Hunters on military properties must wear a minimum of 244 square inches of blaze orange. Hunters participating in any firearm hunt on Valles Caldera National Preserve must wear a minimum of 244 square inches of blaze orange. Though not required elsewhere by law, NMDGF strongly encourages hunters to wear blaze orange.
Is it legal to kill mountain lions in New Mexico?
Hunting of mountain lions is allowed in the State of New Mexico. The regulations governing “recreational” hunting of mountain lions specify 19 Cougar Management Zones. Mountain lion hunting season runs from April 1 to March 31 or until a unit’s mortality limit or female sub-limit is met. Hound hunting is allowed.
What is the best unit to hunt elk in New Mexico?
South central New Mexico is home to some of the states best elk hunting with units 34 & 36 leading the way. The two units have been consistent producers of quality bulls (300+) with truly giant bulls (370+) being taken out of both units every year.
Are there elk in New Mexico?
Today, Rocky Mountain elk once again are abundant in Northern New Mexico, and they grace the valleys and mountains of the southern half of the state where once the Merriam’s roamed. Elk calves are born in late May and June, and weigh 30 to 40 pounds.
How long does it take to draw an elk tag in New Mexico?
It takes less than 2 seconds to process and store a single draw of 50,000 applications. Further analysis of the group applicant data tells us that nonresidents and residents apply as a group at about the same rate for elk. For deer and antelope, nonresidents are slightly less likely to apply as a group than residents.
Can you kill coyotes in New Mexico?
In New Mexico, coyotes are classified as “unprotected furbearers” and “non-game species,” and a hunting license is not required to kill them, nor is there a “bag limit” restricting the number of coyotes an individual may kill.
Can you buy over the counter deer tags in New Mexico?
Hunters may buy the Game Hunting license, the Habitat Stamp and the Habitat Management Access Validation by logging into their account and clicking the Over-The-Counter (OTC) Licenses, Permits and Stamps link under License Sales 2020.
How do I get a bear tag in New Mexico?
In order to have your bear pelt tagged, please contact The Bear and Cougar Hotline at (877) 950-5466 and follow the prompts so that we can contact you to make an appointment to either meet an NMDGF employee in the field or at an NMDGF office.