An annual base license is required for every resident or nonresident who hunts in Michigan, unless otherwise noted. The base license allows hunters to hunt small game and also purchase additional hunting licenses.
What license do I need to hunt deer in Michigan?
For most deer hunters, a universal antlerless license is all that will be needed to hunt antlerless deer. The license is valid for public and private lands during all deer seasons, and can be used across deer management units open to antlerless deer hunting.
What do you need to get a hunting license in Michigan?
In order to purchase a hunting license in Michigan, an individual born on or after January 1, 1960, is required to successfully complete an approved hunter education course. There are two options for completing hunter education in Michigan – the traditional course or the online course.
What can you hunt with a base license in Michigan?
- Base License.
- All woodcock hunters must obtain a free woodcock stamp which includes registration with the federal Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)
- Sharp-tailed grouse requires a free sharp-tailed grouse stamp.
Do you need a hunting license to hunt on your own land in Michigan?
DO I NEED A HUNTING LICENSE TO HUNT WITHIN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN? Yes. A Hunting License is different from a Hunter Education Certificate and is required for any person, of any age who hunts within the state. This includes both residents and non-residents.
Can I shoot a deer on my property in Michigan?
No person may hunt with a firearm within 450 feet of an occupied building, dwelling, house, residence or cabin, or any barn or other building used in connection with a farm operation, without obtaining the written permission of the owner, renter or occupant of the property. The safety zone applies to hunting only.
How far away from a house can you shoot a gun in Michigan?
“No person may hunt with a firearm within 450 feet of an occupied building, dwelling, house, residence or cabin, or any barn or other building used in connection with a farm operation, without obtaining the written permission of the owner, renter or occupant of the property.” This safety zone only applies to hunting.
How much is a Michigan deer license?
Under the new system, hunters will be required to purchase a base license – $11 for residents and $151 for nonresidents – before purchasing any other licenses. The base license allows hunters to pursue small game and purchase additional licenses.
Does Michigan have a lifetime hunting license?
(e) The fee for a comprehensive lifetime hunting and fishing license is $1,025.00 and shall include all of the following: (i) Resident small game license. (ii) Resident firearm deer license.
How much is a Michigan fishing license 2021?
License options include: Annual all-species resident: $26. Annual all-species nonresident: $76. Annual all-species senior: $11 (65 and older or legally blind, Michigan residents only).
Is it legal to shoot squirrels in Michigan?
Game species and furbearers, including deer, bear, beaver, fox and rabbit, are protected by state law and require a DNR permit for their removal. … Opossum, porcupine, weasel, red squirrel, ground squirrel and feral swine can also be taken year-round with a valid Michigan hunting license.
Is it legal to shoot crows in Michigan?
There is no bag limit for crows and there is a special clause in the Michigan crow hunting regulations that states that “crows may be taken outside the open hunting season during hunting hours in compliance with federal regulations if these birds are causing a nuisance or creating a health hazard.” These regulations …
How many deer can you kill with a combo license in Michigan?
Deer combo license, which includes two kill tags, one regular and one restricted. Hunters who want two deer licenses must buy the deer combo license instead of the single deer license. This is required to implement antler point restrictions, which apply based on whether the hunter has purchased two deer licenses.
Can DNR come on private property in Michigan?
“Currently, the DNR uses the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, and the open fields doctrine as an excuse to broadly enter people’s private property without obtaining a warrant,” LaFave said.
How many buck tags can you get in Michigan?
The statewide limit for private-land anterless license purchase is 10 per hunter. That offers hunters “maximum opportunity” when managing abundant deer on their property.
How old do you have to be to hunt alone in Michigan?
But state officials reminded them that the law requires youth to be 17 to hunt alone. “Until they are 17, they have to be in direct contact with an adult,” said Mary Dettloff, spokesperson for the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.