What license do I need to hunt grouse in Michigan?

Woodcock, a migratory bird, have an abbreviated season, September 22 to November 5. To hunt grouse and woodcock in Michigan, hunters only need a base license.

When can you hunt ruffed grouse in Michigan?

In Michigan, grouse season runs from Sept. 15 to Nov. 14, with a break at the beginning of deer hunting season, and then resumes from Dec. 1 to Jan.

Can you hunt grouse with a 12 gauge?

Leave those guns at home and save them for waterfowl or pheasant hunts. Instead, tote a 12-28 gauge shotgun in any action you please, but make sure it’s light. It should also have a fairly short barrel, for easy, quick swinging in thick cover. I like a double, but autoloaders and pumps are also fine.

What do you need for grouse hunting?

Gear for a typical day hunting grouse should include: blaze orange vest and hat, water, compass, shotgun, size #6 or #7 shells in the appropriate gauge, durable pants and long-sleeve shirt, as well as sturdy waterproof boots.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the best whitetail hunting clothing?

What can you hunt with a base license in Michigan?

Small Game

  • Base License.
  • All woodcock hunters must obtain a free woodcock stamp which includes registration with the federal Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)
  • Sharp-tailed grouse requires a free sharp-tailed grouse stamp.

Game species and furbearers, including deer, bear, beaver, fox and rabbit, are protected by state law and require a DNR permit for their removal. … Opossum, porcupine, weasel, red squirrel, ground squirrel and feral swine can also be taken year-round with a valid Michigan hunting license.

Can you shoot a cardinal in Michigan?

It is illegal to take, kill, or possess northern cardinals, and violation of the law is punishable by a fine of up to US$15,000 and imprisonment of up to six months.

What time of day is best for grouse hunting?

Post subject: re: Best time of day to hunt grouse. Most upland birds are best hunted in the three hours after sunrise and the three hours before sunset. It is during this time that they move around foraging for food and leave the most scent. During midday, birds tend to loaf in the shade.

Can you shoot grouse on the ground?

The difference between a ruffed grouse and partridge is that one was in the air while the other was standing on the ground (or a tree limb). … Just to make it clear, you should never shoot a ruffed grouse on the ground when a bird dog is involved for safety reasons.

How do you spot a grouse?

Look for grouse where the ground is covered with salad—small, leafy plants, berries, seeds and mushrooms—not dense, long grass. Logged areas, 10-year-old burns and overgrown farms that are being colonized with poplars are good spots to look, as grouse feed heavily on poplar catkins.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the name of the town that the polar bears come to?

What state has the most ruffed grouse?

Minnesota is the top ruffed grouse-producing state in the U.S. No other state harvests as many ruffed grouse each fall or provides as much public hunting land containing ruffed grouse.

Where is the best grouse hunting?

Hunters can still find good hunting in the undeveloped forests of Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. In Maine and New Hampshire, where local hunters refer to ruffed grouse as partridge, hunting opportunities are excellent. In Maine alone, as many as half a million grouse are harvested annually.

What is the best dog for grouse hunting?

The 10 Best Gun Dogs for Ruffed Grouse Hunting

  • Pointer. …
  • German Wirehaired Pointer/Drahthaar. …
  • German Shorthaired Pointer. …
  • Labrador Retriever. …
  • Golden Retriever. …
  • English Cocker Spaniel. …
  • English Springer Spaniel. The English springer spaniel is a highly versatile flushing dog. …
  • Brittany. A Brittany spaniel goes on point.


Can you hunt on your own land without a license in Michigan?

Hunters can typically freely take game animals hunted on their own private property, or may seek permission from a landowner to hunt on private property. Hunters who wish to take game on privately owned land must follow state hunting regulations as well as any regulations specified by the landowner.

How far away from a house can you shoot a gun in Michigan?

No person may hunt with a firearm within 450 feet of an occupied building, dwelling, house, residence or cabin, or any barn or other building used in connection with a farm operation, without obtaining the written permission of the owner, renter or occupant of the property. The safety zone applies to hunting only.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is duck hunting open in Wisconsin?

Does Michigan have a lifetime fishing license?

(e) The fee for a comprehensive lifetime hunting and fishing license is $1,025.00 and shall include all of the following: (i) Resident small game license. (ii) Resident firearm deer license.

Good hunting