Kansas receives a solid B rating for several reasons. First, it regularly holds mallards all winter. With relatively mild and open winters and plenty of grain stubble, the table is set to keep greenheads right there for fantastic wintertime hunts.
Where is the best duck hunting in Kansas?
A top public Kansas Duck Hunting destination is Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Refuge. Located near Great Bend, in central Kansas. As one of the largest inland marshes of over 20,000 acres, Cheyenne Bottoms is a top spot for migratory waterfowl in the Central Flyway.
Where can I duck hunt in Kansas?
Located near the city of Great Bend in central Kansas, Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area has become synonymous with waterfowl hunting, and as one of the largest inland marshes in the United States, this 20,000-acre wetland complex provides a variety of hunting opportunities for freelancers waterfowlers.
What is the best state for duck hunting?
The 10 Best Duck Hunting States
- Nebraska. …
- Minnesota. …
- Maryland. …
- North Dakota. …
- Mississippi. …
- Illinois. …
- Arkanas. …
- Louisiana. Between the delta, flooded timber, and the coastal wing-shooting, Louisiana has arguably the best duck hunting there is anywhere in North America.
What is needed to duck hunt in Kansas?
Annual Hunting License – All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law.
Waterfowl Licenses & Fees
- Kansas HIP Stamp: $2.50.
- State Waterfowl Stamp: $10.
- Federal Waterfowl Stamp: $26.50 – Purchased at any KDWPT office or at any US Post Office.
How many ducks can you kill in Kansas?
Kansas Duck Limits
Six ducks including no more than, 5 mallards, of which only 2 may be hens; 3 wood ducks; 3 scaup; 2 redheads; 2 canvasbacks; and 1 pintail. Possession limit is three times the daily bag limit.
Is it duck season in Kansas?
Duck Season Dates: Youth Season – October 24, 2020 – October 25, 2020. Regular Season – October 31, 2020 – January 3, 2021 and January 23-31, 2021.
How many pintails can you shoot in Kansas?
Youth Season Daily Bag Limit: 6 6 ducks, with species and sex restrictions as follows: 5 mallards (no more than 2 of which may be females), 3 wood ducks, 2 redheads, 2 canvasbacks, 1 pintail, and 1 scaup.
|Wood duck||Aix sponsa|
|Ruddy Duck||Oxyura jamaicensis|
Are pit blinds legal in Kansas?
No holes or pits may be dug for any purpose. Portable blinds and temporary blinds made of native vegetation may be used but must be removed within 10 days after the close of the hunting season or after the last day of use.
How do you hunt Cheyenne Bottoms?
Hunters planning trips to the Bottoms should consider weekday hunts. Prior to hunting any species on Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area, hunters are required to use iSportsman, the electronic Daily Hunt Permit. First time users will need to register and obtain a General Access Permit.
What state has the highest duck limit?
California led all states for highest total duck harvest and total duck hunter days afield, while Texas was tops for total active duck hunters.
Which state kills the most ducks?
1: California. Ultimately, the contest wasn’t close. Golden State waterfowlers averaged 24.5 ducks per hunter in 2016 (that’s more than 1.15 million ducks taken by about 47,100 folks, if you’re interested).
What state has the longest duck season?
Despite the likelihood of lower duck population numbers, the state of Utah again recommended one of the longest waterfowl hunting seasons in the Unites States, a full, continuous 107-day duck season lasting most of the winter.
Do mergansers count towards duck limit?
Mergansers don’t count towards the daily duck bag limit, they have a separate limit of 5 meaning you can shoot 6 ducks, mallards or can or scaup or woodies and also shoot 5 mergansers two of which can be hooded etc.
What are the hunting seasons in Kansas?
Kansas Deer Seasons
|Archery||Sept. 14-Dec. 31|
|General Youth and Disabled Hunt||Sept. 9-15|
|Pre-Rut Antlerless Deer||Oct. 10-12|
|General Firearms||Dec. 2-13|
What license do I need to hunt pheasant in Kansas?
Resident hunters age 16-74 are required to have a hunting license to hunt pheasants and quail, unless exempt by law. All nonresident hunters must have a nonresident hunting license, unless they are hunting on land they own. The Kansas pheasant and quail seasons open Nov.