Can you hunt without a license in PA?
All Pennsylvania residents must have a resident hunting license. Additional permits may be required. Pennsylvania residents age 18 or older who are first-time hunters may be eligible to participate in the Mentored Adult Hunting Program.
What Animals Can you hunt without a license in PA?
No paperwork is required by the state of Pennsylvania, but a hunting license is not a license to trespass on private land.
A map of these areas is available on the commission’s website.
- Woodchucks. Woodchucks are also known as groundhogs. …
- Coyote. …
- Crows. …
- Opossums. …
- Striped skunks. …
Do you need a license to hunt squirrel in PA?
SQUIRRELS, Red, Gray, Black and Fox (Combined): Special season for eligible junior hunters, with or without required license – Sept. 11-25 (6 daily, 18 in possession limit after first day). SQUIRRELS, Red, Gray, Black and Fox (Combined): Sept. 11-Nov.
Do you need a special license to hunt pheasant in PA?
The pheasant permit is required, in addition to a general hunting license, for all adult and senior hunters, resident or nonresident, who pursue pheasants. Junior hunters do not need a permit to hunt pheasants. The permit costs $26.90 and must be signed and carried while hunting for pheasants.
Can I shoot a spike in PA?
Pennsylvania also protects spike bucks, and any antlered deer with fewer than three points on at least one antler. (Junior hunters, disabled hunters and active duty military service members are the only hunters who can shoot spikes here.) … At 2.5, they presumably will have larger bodies and possibly larger antlers.
How many acres do you need to hunt in PA?
(2) The 50 or more contiguous acres of land are open to public hunting and trapping and shall remain open to hunting and trapping during the hunting license year for which the antlerless deer license is issued.
Is it legal to hunt in your backyard?
If you live in a rural area, you may be able to take deer legally. Landowners often hunt their property or offer the chance to others, usually at a price. … Even if it’s permitted, you’ll likely see regulations about hunting near dwellings or over any public roads. Both are usually illegal in most areas.
Is it legal to kill squirrels in Pennsylvania?
Any wildlife killed must be reported to the Game Commission. … Exclusion and trapping are probably the two most commonly used approaches for dealing with nuisance wildlife. Exclusion can be effective for some species, such as rabbits, bats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks, groundhogs, Canada geese and other waterfowl.
Can you hunt deer on your own property without a license Pennsylvania?
Hunters can typically freely take game animals hunted on their own private property, or may seek permission from a landowner to hunt on private property. Hunters who wish to take game on privately owned land must follow state hunting regulations as well as any regulations specified by the landowner.
What are the rules for a junior license in PA?
Passenger limitation: Young drivers can have only one non-family member under 18 with them in the vehicle. After six months on the junior license, the restriction rises to no more than three passengers under 18. Immediate family members are excluded from the restriction.
What 3 Sundays can you hunt in PA?
The new law allows hunting on three Sundays: one during rifle deer season, one in archery deer season and a third that was to be determined by the game commission.
Can a 16 year old hunt alone in PA?
Pennsylvania residents and non-residents between the ages of 12 and 16 may purchase a junior hunting license. Hunters ages 14 and 15 must be accompanied by a licensed adult age 18 or older. … Sixteen-year-olds may hunt alone.
Can you shoot hen pheasants in PA?
2021-22 Seasons and Bag Limits: Male and female pheasants may be taken in all WMUs. There is no open season for taking pheasants in Wild Pheasant Recovery Areas, except within the Central Susquehanna Wild Pheasant Recovery Area, as authorized by executive order.
How much is a pheasant license in PA?
Each hunting or furtaking license will cost $20.90 for Pennsylvania residents and $101.90 for nonresidents.
How many pheasants are you allowed in PA?
Both male and female pheasants can be hunted statewide, except for within the state’s two Wild Pheasant Recovery Areas, where pheasant hunting is closed, except as authorized by executive order. A hunter’s daily limit of pheasants is two and the possession limit is six.