Baiting deer is illegal in Michigan’s lower peninsula and parts of the UP. The DNR says it’s important for hunters to understand why this is the law: “There’s bait being sold all over the lower peninsula but to use that bait is against the law.
Can you bait deer in Lower Michigan?
Baiting deer remains illegal in most of Michigan after a bill to end the existing ban was vetoed by Gov. Gretchen Whitmer. … Baiting is currently illegal in the entire Lower Peninsula and a 660-square mile range in the Upper Peninsula.
Can you bait on private land in Michigan?
The statewide limit for private-land antlerless license purchase is 10 per hunter. … Hunters with disabilities may use single-bite and multi bite baits during the Liberty and Independence hunts. Hunters participating in the Liberty and Independence hunts may begin baiting five days before both hunts.
Can I feed deer in my backyard in Michigan?
Feeding deer is illegal in Michigan’s Lower Peninsula and is limited in the U.P. without a permit. For more crazy outdoor stories, visit The Realblog and check out Realtree’s Facebook page.
Are salt licks legal in Michigan?
A buck at a salt lick. The Michigan Department of Natural Resources has lifted a ban on putting bait out for deer. From October 1st through January 1st the practice will again be allowed in most counties in the lower peninsula.
Is a salt block considered baiting?
Mineral blocks, including salt, are not considered bait. However, mineral blocks that contain grain or other food additives are prohibited.
Can I shoot a deer from my house in Michigan?
No person may hunt with a firearm within 450 feet of an occupied building, dwelling, house, residence or cabin, or any barn or other building used in connection with a farm operation, without obtaining the written permission of the owner, renter or occupant of the property. The safety zone applies to hunting only.
Can the DNR come on private property in Michigan?
“Currently, the DNR uses the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, and the open fields doctrine as an excuse to broadly enter people’s private property without obtaining a warrant,” LaFave said.
What is the fine for baiting deer in Michigan 2020?
Unlawful Baiting Deer [ C3. 100(7) ] – misdemeanor offense with a maximum of 90 days in jail, a minimum fine of at least $50 to a maximum fine of $500, Court costs and State fees, and the loss of hunting privileges at the discretion of the Court pursuant to MCL 324.43559.
Can you bait deer in Michigan in 2021?
Baiting and recreational feeding of deer remains illegal throughout the Lower Peninsula and the Core CWD Area in the Upper Peninsula. The ban is in place to lower the risk of the spread of chronic wasting disease and bovine tuberculosis, according to the DNR.
Can I use my buck tag for a doe in Michigan?
New 2020 Deer Regulations in Michigan Gives Hunters across the State more Opportunity. … In the Lower Peninsula, hunters will be allowed to use any valid deer license or private land combination tag to take an antlerless deer during the early and late antlerless firearm seasons.
Can you retrieve a deer on someone elses property in Michigan?
If you have wounded a deer and it goes onto someone else’s property, you are legally binded to try and recover that deer. You do not have to gain permission from the landowner in order to do this. However, you cannot take any weapon on the property with you while you’re trying to recover the deer.
Can I feed deer in my yard?
Allowing deer access to your garden and landscaping, or intentionally feeding deer, can be deadly. Wild animals naturally fear people, keep a distance, and will not bother you, so long as they remain truly wild. … It’s illegal to feed deer in California! Landscape with deer-resistant plants.
What happens if you get caught baiting in Michigan?
Baiting is currently illegal in most of Michigan and violators can be punished with fines, up to 90 days in jail and losing a hunting license.
Will a salt blocks attract deer?
Salt and mineral blocks set out for domestic livestock commonly attract deer. A salt block can be purchased from a feed supply store and set out specifically to attract deer. … Once deer have found the salt block, they will continue to return to it.
How many bucks can you shoot in Michigan?
“They can shoot any buck they want,” Stewart said. The statewide limit for private-land anterless license purchase is 10 per hunter. That offers hunters “maximum opportunity” when managing abundant deer on their property.