Can I hunt public land in Kansas?

There are several good public hunting areas in Kansas such as Milford, Tuttle Creek, Melvern, Council Grove and Toronto wildlife areas, Flint Hills National Wildlife Refuge and Fort Riley military base. There are several thousand acres of timber on each of these areas, most of which is along riparian corridors.

Where can you hunt public land in Kansas?

  • Walk-In Hunting Areas. • Program allows public hunting access to private lands. …
  • Flint Hills National Wildlife Refuge. • 18,500 acres. …
  • Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge. • 10,778 acres. …
  • Melvern Wildlife Area. • 10,100 acres in southeast Kansas. …
  • McPherson Valley Wetlands Area. • 4,455 acres.


Do you need a permit to hunt public land in Kansas?

All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law. Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is baiting deer legal in VA?

Can you hunt on your own land without a license in Kansas?

If you are resident and 75 years of age or older, you are not required to purchase a hunting license. Description of Landowner: A landowner is any resident who owns 80 acres or more of Kansas farm or ranch land. When applying for a landowner/tenant permit, land owned must be in the unit applying for.

Can you hunt coyotes on public land in Kansas?

Coyotes are not legally classified as furbearers in the state of Kansas, so they can actually be hunted all year long. While many people think coyote hunting is somewhat trivial, everyone should give it a try, at least once.

When can you shoot someone in Kansas?

Kansas and Missouri have the law in place, Missouri recently enacting it in 2017. It means that people have the right to kill someone if they reasonably feel their life is being threatened without having to retreat first.

Where is the best deer hunting in Kansas?

Tuttle Creek Wildlife Area is widely regarded as one of the best spots in the state to hunt trophy bucks! Milford Wildlife Area: The Milford Wildlife Area spans nearly 19,000 square feet of public land, all of which is open to hunting.

How much does a deer tag cost in Kansas?

$52.50 Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler)

How many bucks can you kill in Kansas?

Kansas deer hunting regulations allow only one buck per permit, but a number of antlerless deer permits may be purchased by an individual.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How expensive is duck hunting?

What is the smallest caliber you can hunt deer with in Kansas?

Previously, rifle cartridges had to be at least . 22 caliber and handgun cartridges had to be at least 1.28-inches long. — Slugs can now be used in any gauge shotgun for deer hunting in Kansas, rather than 20 gauge or larger.

Can game wardens come on private property in Kansas?

Currently, under a legal precedent known as the “open fields doctrine,” law enforcement may generally enter private land adjacent to public land without a warrant in their investigations. Jarchow, an attorney by trade, said allowing wardens on private property without reason is unconstitutional.

How many acres do you need to hunt in Kansas?

In Kansas, “Hunt-On-Your-Own-Land Permits” are available to resident or non-resident landowners or tenants who actively engage in agricultural practices on 80 acres or more of Kansas property. To qualify as a nonresident landowner, a person must own property in fee simple ownership with their name on the deed.

Do you need a hunting license on private property in Kansas?

Because Kansas is 97 percent privately owned, landowners still provide access for most of our hunting opportunities. … -Kansas law requires all hunters to have landowner permission before hunting on private land whether the land is posted with “No Hunting” signs or not.

The state of Kansas has given its approval on hunting coyotes at night. Beginning in 2021, with the purchase of a special night hunting permit, hunters will be able to hunt coyotes at night. They’ll also be able to use gear such as night vision and thermal optics to hunt the predators.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you hunt with buckshot in Wisconsin?

Can you shoot coyotes from a vehicle in Kansas?

Motor vehicles and radios in vehicles may be used to hunt coyotes only. Furharvester license is required to trap and sell; hunting license is required to hunt and sell. Field Trail Permit – Furbearers and Coyotes.

Hunting coyotes at night will be permitted in the state of Kansas from January 1 through March 31. As with most hunting seasons, rules and regulations apply to this season.

Good hunting